Man’s Best Fiend

on

MansBestFiend

This is a pen and ink drawing I worked on a couple days, maybe 8 hours total, when I had some free time in the early morning. It’s based on a rough sketch I did during my lunch break at my day job.

The idea came about from the numerous walks my family and I go on through the neighborhood. One area has a picket fences along the entire property line of a subdivision of houses. One section of the fences has busted for quite some time, like the drawing. There are also numerous dogs that bark and growl from behind other fences. So, it got me to thinking, ‘What if?’ and this drawing is the end results.

It’s possible this idea/drawing will spawn other projects, but that remains to be determined. Regardless, I enjoyed doing this drawing, it was a lot of fun and I’m happy with the end results. I tried not to get too hyper detailed with everything in order to draw attention to the zombie but not be too Spartan with the rest of the drawing. I’m happy with the end results.

I drew it mainly with the School nib which is a fine point and has a nice stiffness to it which works well for me since I tend to be heavy handed. But it has enough flexiabilty to allow variety to the line thickness depending on the pressure applied. It’s nice to use one pen for an entire drawing rather than having to swap them out for different ones.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Janet says:

    Nice writing and drawing!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

