Salvation (?)

Scan_20170204The idea for this one originated when I saw a picture of an old church with a ton of different crosses hanging on it and the word ‘Salvation’ painted above them all. It was a very desolate and weathered building in the middle of an overgrown field. It reminded me of something you’d see in some Romero zombie movie, or even The Walking Dead, and that sparked the idea of a zombie and Faith. Romero, in particular, toyed with the idea of religion in his zombie films, at least the good ones – Night of the Living Dead, Dawn of the Dead, and Day of the Dead. It’s an idea that always intrigued me, and something I might explore in some fashion later on.  Personally, I felt Romero tackled the idea better than Robert Kirkman’s The Walking Dead.

I used my Pentel Color Brush for this one exclusively. I’ve used other ‘brush’ pens that have nylon or felt tips that try to simulate the feel of a brush but I like the Pentel  Color Brush much more since it actually has bristles and handles like an actual brush. It’s also much easier and convenient and less messy to use than a bottle of ink and brush.I recently found out that they make refills for it, which makes even better since it’ll save me money in the long run. The only thing that’s a negative with it is that for whatever reason mine had no English instruction as to how to get the ink flowing, everything was in Japanese. Fortunately, I was able to find a video online that helped me.

Leave a Reply

