How To Hurt An Artist …

Earlier this week I came across a clever cartoon over on Hyperallergic concerning the trite and backhanded comments people dole out to artists. If you’ve been involved in any type of art, be it writing, visual, music, etc, I’m sure you’ve come across people like those in the cartoon. Comments like ‘My five year old could do that!’ or ‘People pay you for this?’

My personal favorite is when someone says to me something along the lines of, ‘Do you know (insert name of trendy author/artist/etc)? He’s awesome and makes a lot of money. You should do stuff like him!’

It’s always a gringe inducing experience when someone says something like that. I remember when I was back in community college and taking my first painting course. We had to do critiques in class of each others’ work and one of the things that drove the instructor (a man I learned a ton about making art from) nuts was when one of the little old ladies in the class would say, ‘Well … it’s interesting.’ The reason it pissed him off was because that phrase really doesn’t say anything at all. It would be fine if it was followed up by some constructive feedback, but by itself it is simply code for ‘I’m uncomfortable with this and can’t put together any real thought.’ Which an insult to the artist and the class as a whole.

Years ago, before I met my wife, I went on a date with this woman who asked me if I felt ‘depressed or angry’ because I was a connoisseur of people like H.P. Lovecraft and H.R. Giger as well making art along similar themes. I seem to remember laughing in her face, and telling her ‘No.’ Art and the themes I chose to work with are a creative/intellectual experiment and a form of escapism. If they made me depressed or angry I don’t think I’d be going to work everyday or going out on dates, let alone making more Art.

I suppose that from the outside the world of the creative person can be alien to some people but such callous remarks that mean next to nothing or are just plain insulting aren’t excusable.

These days I don’t get horribly upset if someone says something trite or belittling to me about my persuit of writing and drawing. I realize not everyone gets it and that some people want to knock people down. But I’m passionate and making the Art that I do, and those type of people aren’t going to get in my way.

The other day I saw this quote from Georgia O’Keefe which I thing sums it  all up very well.

“I have already settled it for myself so flattery and criticism go down the same drain and I am quite free.”

Feel free to leave any experiences you’ve had with back handed compliments etc from others in regard to your creative work.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. moteridgerider says:

    Reblogged this on Writing In Starlight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. khurtack says:

      Thanks for reblogging.

      Like

Leave a Reply

