Why don’t you do something ‘Normal’?

“If you are always trying to be normal, you will never know how amazing you can be.” ~ Maya Angelou

I saw this quote up on the message board today at work.  It got me to thinking about when I was a kid and someone would say something to me on par with ‘why can’t you write/draw something normal?’.  To me normal equated ‘boring’ ‘dull’ ‘ordinary’. Normal was getting up in the morning and going to school. Normal was sitting down to dinner in the same seat at the same time and listening to the same conversations. Normal was following like a lemming.  Normal was being a cog in the wheel. Normal was being like cattle led to the slaughter house, work your 40 hours a week and die.  That’s normal. Normal? Why would I want to do that?  I wanted to escape the oridinary, not recreate it on the page. I wanted to experience things that went beyond discussion about the weather that’s the same every year.  I wanta drift on the current of my imagination and wash up on the shores of the unknown.

Normal? Who the hell ever created something with the hope and desire that their audience would decree, “By jove! That’s normal! Good show old boy!”  ?

Fuck Normal.

Close your eyes and take that first step.

Leave a Reply

