Sidekicks Going Solo…

I'm not sure what makes me feel older, seeing these costumes or the phone...
I’m not sure what makes me feel older, seeing these costumes or the phone…

I’ve been a fan of Batman since I was a kid.  From the old TV show to the animated series, all the different movies and of course the comics, in particular Detective Comics.  But to be honest I’ve never really been a fan of Robin. There are many reasons why I never cared for ‘The Boy Wonder’.  His Crayola colored costume?  His name always seemedwussy.

Yeah, that costume looks practical, Robin...
Yeah, that costume looks practical, Robin…

He came across as kinda whiney, perhaps even could give Luke Skywalker a run for his money in the whiney department.  And he seemed like bait for any villain to use against Batman. Robin’s parents both died, too.   But perhaps the biggest reason I never liked Robin as a sidekick is because the biggest appeal to me for Batman was that he was one man going up against the legion of villany and criminals in Gotham.  Batman had to rely on his own intellect and physical prowess to triumphant.  The creation of Robin took away that lone wolf quality to the Caped Crusader.

That being said I recently started reading Nightwing, the ‘New 52’ version.  I have to say that I’ve enjoyed the series a lot.  I think the reason being is that Dick Grayson/Nightwing is on his own, rather being a supporting character.  The writers do an excellent job at separating Nightwing from being a Batman clone by developing him into a unique character.  Very early on the differences between Batman and Nightwing are evident.  From the where they chose to live and the manner in which they work.  I also like the fact that the writers incorporate Grayson’s acrobatic/trapeze background into his style of crime fighting.  But the biggest thing I’m enjoying about the series is that the writers draw upon Grayson’s past, the Haley Circus, and develop it not only into an intriguing mystery but also into some great character development.

Apparently Dick Grayson went into the future and stole some of Batman Beyond's costumes...
Apparently Dick Grayson went into the future and stole some of Batman Beyond’s costumes…

There also seems to be a good balance between the dark/heavy side of the story arc with the lighter side of Dick Grayson’s personal life. Also Nightwing seems to have a smart aleck mouth at times which brings some welcome comic relief as well.

So after years and years of disliking Robin, I have to say that I’m becoming a fan of Nightwing.  So I reckon there’s hope for annoy sidekicks, but I still hold fast to my utter hatred for the notorious Scrappy Doo.

Seriously? Who thought this was a good idea?
Seriously? Who thought this was a good idea?
Seriously...
Seriously…
Leave a Reply

