Free Read: Death’s Dance

Stumbling down my past

like a drunkard in the alley

kicking my regrets like empty cans

That six-gun’s as empty

as the noose awaitin’ on me

Regrets circle in my head

like vultures high above

Salvation is like water

to a parched man

stranded in a sea of sand

Hope is like a shot of whiskey

there ain’t never enough

Hang my head

as I walk that path

every breath is my last

the sins of my past

paid in full

Swinging through oblivion

like a metronome

keeping the beat

for death’s dance

9/29/14 Kevin Hurtack

Leave a Reply

