For Immortality Or Fun?

“You don’t make music for immortality, you make music for the moment. For capturing the sheer joy of being alive on planet earth. Wow, is this fun.” – Ray Manzarek

I came across that quote this afternoon, and it got me to thinking.  I know Ray was talking about performing music, but to me it can be easily applied to any type of Art.  For me it is writing and drawing/painting.  Although I would love to get published by a big publisher and write an ongoing series of novels and not have to work the proverbial 9-5 grind for the next thirty or so years until I retire I can honestly say that it is not the driving force behind anything I write or draw.  The reason I spend the time alone huddled over a laptop or a drawing table is because it is what I love doing.  I’ve been enthralled by creativity since I was a kid.  I didn’t run around calling it Art back then but it was probably truer to Art then anything else I have done.  For me creating stories whether on paper, or with action figures in a sandbox it was about fun, and also escaping the tedium of the area I grew up in where there were not a lot of kids my age and not any opportunities for group activities like say, the Boy Scouts or karate lessons.  I can definitely relate to Ray Mazarek’s comment about capturing the sheer joy of being alive on planet earth.  When I’m in the process of creating something or brainstorming it is a definitely sheer joy.  Back in the day I would’ve referred to it as a high, but today I would say it is on par with being in love.  Creativity is Love.  Love of yourself, love of the world, love of imagination, love of the people near and dear.  Love of a higher power.  Love of the universe.  Creativity is the Big Bang.  Creativity is God creating the spark of Life into Adam & Eve.

My love for creativity has waned periodically throughout my life, but it has never vanished.  I can say that the past few years and this year in particular have been highly creative and I do not see that changing any time soon.  I’m blessed to be in a relationship with creative and artistic woman who ”gets it”.

Creativity has been a great release of raw emotions during troubling times, its ability to consolve and sooth my soul is unparalled to anything else.  Creativity has taken me far from this world and guided me through the uncharted realms of my imagination, leading me to exhilirating experiences and thoughts.  Creativity has been the bond of some of the most precious friendships I have in my life.  When I was feeling down, or lost my job or had no friends at the time, Creativity  never turned its back on me, it proved that although I may be on my own I am not alone.  Creativity proves to me that I am not alone, that this world full of life is not a random accident, or the result of mutated viruses.

Regardless if I ever sign a big book deal or not, I’ll continue to create because its a core element of who I am as a person.  It’s a blessing and a gift, sure it may be a lonely pursuit at times and equally frustrating at times but I wouldn’t give it up for anything.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I agree 100% with this. Thank you so much for sharing. ❤

    Like

  2. Jim influenced my art my entire life with his macabre and surreal lyrics and poetry. You can see my portrait of the Lizard King I created in memoriam recently on the 40th anniversary of his death. It’s on my artist’s blog at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2011/07/celebration-of-lizard-king-jim-morrison.html

    Like

    1. khurtack says:

      Thanks, I’ll check that out.

      Like

  3. Feind Gottes says:

    Very well said my friend, I couldn’t agree more. I figure as long as at least 1 person likes what I do I’ll keep doing it and since I am a person I don’t think I’ll be stopping any time soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

